I am a US citizen

usa-flagWell, almost…

I successfully passed my US citizenship interview.  I correctly answered 6 civic lessons questions, demonstrated my ability to read, write and speak English, and proclaimed my willingness to bear arms to defend the US of A.  All in all, this was a rather anti-climatic experience.  Not sure what I was expecting — the ghost of Francis Scott Key singing The Star-Spangled Banner perhaps.  But none of that happened.  Instead, I was simply informed that I had passed my interview and that my oath ceremony is to take place next Thursday.  Until then I won’t count myself a bona fide US citizen.

I learned that appointment times stated on Immigration forms are more of a general guideline than an actual appointment.  My 11:05 PM appointment was more like an 11:35 PM.

I happily learned that my file, by USCIS standards, is a very thin one, albeit it is about 1 inch thick.

I am curious why such heavy security is needed for the waiting area of the citizenship interviews offices. I wasn’t sure whether I was being protected against a possible attack or whether the employees were being protected against a possible attack by a disgruntled citizens-wanna-be.  Somehow I don’t think those armed guards were there for my protection.

I am also curious why, if knowledge of English is required to become a citizen, all signs in the waiting area are in English, Spanish and, I believe, Polish.  If I can’t understand the word “Auditorium”, I’m not likely to pass the interview.

I also learned that the USCIS officers do a hell of a fine job processing all those countless citizenship applications.  It is not until you sit in the waiting area and look around at all the people applying that you appreciate the job of a USCIS officer.  I don’t think I’d have enough patience to do it.

Can’t wait to have a US passport!

7 Responses

  1. Привет,
    Поздравляю!!! Надеюсь увидися на Лотуссфере 🙂

  2. Congratulations Alex!

    Welcome aboard, the US can use more new citizens like you.

  3. Congratulations!

  4. Outstanding, Alex!

  5. Alex…congratulations! It is great news indeed! 🙂

  6. Wow! You are willing to bear arms for US? I’m glad I was born here and never had to think about that! Congrats – it goes nicely with your wife, two children and picket fence! I think I’ll send you an apple pie…

  7. Congratulations! Alex. Happy for you.

Leave a Reply

