How to remember the books you read

I can’t believe that I’m about to say this, but my mother was right.  She was right when she was trying to make me keep a journal of the books that I read.  When I was a kid, after I finished a book, before she would let me start another one, she would make me sit down and write down the book title, author and a synopsis of the story.  Of course, as a kid, I would rebel, try to get out of doing this — after all, I had great memory and would never forget any book that I read. Or would I?

Not long ago I happened to pick up at my local library a copy of Moby Dick.  As I started reading the book, some part of me was incredulous at the fact that I never read this classic of American literature before.  Yet another part of me seemed to remember some bits and pieces, seemed to remember reading it before.  As I sat there, I came to realize that I’ve forgotten a great many books that I had read.  I always thought that I could remember the obvious ones, the classics, the monumental works of fiction.  But something like Moby Dick?  I would expect myself to remember it and yet I wasn’t sure.  The early signs of old age?  Alzheimer’s?  Call it what you will, but I’m forgetting the books that I read.

So now I’m on this kick to remember and list as many books as possible.  The obvious ones are the ones I own. I wonder if my library can pull up a list of everything I had borrowed over the years.

Like Sherlock Holmes, I find that my brain is not able to store every bit of information I come across.  There is simply not enough room for information that is not relevant to the functions of my day-to-day life.  Like Sherlock Holmes who chose not to know that Earth is round, I choose not to remember every birthday and every book — I choose to use technology!

True to the Information Age, I found a website LibraryThing.com that lets you keep a list of books you own.  I’m cheating and using it to keep a list of books I read: the ones I own and the ones I don’t.  I just hope that one of the site’s 500,000 members won’t call my bluff and ask to borrow a book I don’t own.

8 Responses

  1. What a coincidence! I was going thru these same thoughts myself a few weeks ago.. and I started using Shelfari. Don’t know how it compares with LibraryThing.com, but I should check it out — if I remember it long enough!

  2. Hmmm… I think I’m liking the Shelfari site better than the LibraryThing. Thanks for the tip.

  3. Hey, thanks for this! I was just assigned a massive reading list for my MA program and I’ve also been trying to figure out how I’m going to remember everything I read. I picked up Moby Dick today (on the list) and I’m trying to take good notes using my blog… sorta. Anyway, it’s funny to see you are thinking of this too. It looks like lots of people think about it.

  4. I can’t believe someone besides my own mother insisted on keeping a log of books read! I will check out the LibraryThing and the Shelfari sites. Thanks!

  5. CAB, what’s worse, is that you, just like me, are about to admit that your mother was right and it is a good thing to do.

  6. What’s even worse than that is that as a teacher, I’m not only going to admit my mother was right and it’s a good thing to do, but I’m going to see if it isn’t something my students can use also.

  7. […] was reading Alex’s post at  https://kassabov.wordpress.com/2008/07/18/how-to-remember-the-books-you-read/ and simply had to check out the site he recommend: http://www.librarything.com .  The other site, […]

  8. Hi, Alex,
    That’s my post about your blog and LibraryThing above there. I started a teacher blog yesterday. Apparently it automatically links to the other blog when you reference it. (I am such a newbie!). I also added you to my blogroll there because you write things that are pertinent for educators, especially those who have only ever been educators, to be aware of. Hope that was okay with you. So far, I have no traffic, but that will change with time, I hope. Thanks for the ideas about LibraryThing. I’m using both sites!
    Cat

Leave a comment